Skip to content

Annual Meeting

The NACDS Annual Meeting is the industry’s most prestigious gathering of its most influential leaders. It is the classic “Top-to-Top” business conference, attended by industry decision makers. It will give you and your company a unique opportunity to gain new insights into today’s changing marketplace and set your course for the future.

About Annual

The Annual Meeting format includes two formal business programs featuring business experts, industry panels, and renowned speakers. These sessions are followed by “strategic exchange appointments” (meetings) between retailers and associate members in the designated “strategic exchange spaces” (meeting umbrellas and bungalows), corporate village, private meeting rooms, or other designated meeting spaces located throughout the hotel.

Key Participants

Participation in the Annual Meeting is restricted to executives from NACDS member companies and includes Retail Chairmen, CEOs, Presidents, and Senior Vice Presidents of Marketing, Merchandising, Operations, and Pharmacy and their executive-level counterparts and decision makers from supplier companies.


NACDS represents traditional drug stores, supermarkets and mass merchants with pharmacies. Chains operate over 40,000 pharmacies, and NACDS’ member companies include regional chains, with a minimum of four stores, and national companies. Chains employ nearly 3 million individuals, including 155,000 pharmacists. They fill over 3 billion prescriptions yearly, and help patients use medicines correctly and safely, while offering innovative services that improve patient health and healthcare affordability. NACDS members also include more than 900 supplier partners and over 70 international members representing 21 countries.

Board of Directors

Steven C. Anderson, FASAE, CAE, IOM, NACDS
Brad Cochran, Medicine Shoppe International, Inc.
Lynne Fruth, Fruth Pharmacy
Omer Gajial, Albertsons Companies
Rick Gates, Walgreen Co.
Jeremy Gosch, Hy-Vee, Inc.
Mark Griffin, Lewis Drug
Kevin Host, Walmart
Sean Jackson, Sam’s Club
Nimesh Jhaveri, Health Mart
Rick Keyes, Meijer, Inc.
Colleen Lindholz, The Kroger Co.
Robert Narveson, Thrifty White Pharmacy
Martin Otto, H-E-B
Andre Persaud, Cub Foods/UNFI
Dain Rusk, Publix Super Markets, Inc.
Karen Staniforth, Rite Aid Corporation
Sharon Sternheim, Zitomer/Thriftway Drug Corp.
Mike Stigers, Wakefern Food Corp./ShopRite
Jim Tsipakis, Giant Eagle, Inc.
David Warner, Kinney Drugs, Inc.
Michael Wysong, CARE Pharmacies Cooperative, Inc.
Jenni Zilka, Good Neighbor Pharmacy

NACDS Honorary Board

David Bernauer, Walgreen Co.
Warren F. Bryant, Longs Drug Stores
Anthony N. Civello, Kerr Drug, Inc.
Randy Edeker, Hy-Vee, Inc.
Leonard A. Genovese, Genovese Drug Stores, Inc.
Andrew A. Giancamilli, Snyders Drug Stores
Alex Gourlay, Walgreens Boots Alliance & Walgreen Co.
Robert W. Hannan, Thrift Drug, Inc.
Gerald Heller, May’s Drug Stores, Inc.
Christopher Lane, Wakefern Food Corp./ShopRite
Alan B. Levin, Happy Harry’s, Inc.
Robert D. Loeffler, H-E-B
David Maher, American Stores Company
Larry J. Merlo, CVS Caremark Corporation
Frank A. Newman, Eckerd Corporation
Brian Nightengale, Good Neighbor Pharmacy
Mark Panzer, Alberstons Companies
Harvey Rosenthal, CVS
Thomas M. Ryan, CVS Pharmacy, Inc.
Mary Sammons, Rite Aid Corporation
John Standley, Walgreen Co.
Gregory D. Wasson, Walgreen Co.

NACDS Board Chairs, 1934-2023

George H. Gales, Liggett Drug Co., 1934–1938
Nate S. Shapero, Cunningham Drug Stores, 1938–1941
Horace A. Taylor, Taylor Drug Co., 1941–1944
J.F. Gallaher, Gallaher Drug Co., 1944–1945
C.R. Walgreen, Jr., Walgreen Drug Stores, 1945–1947
E. Roy Albright, Albright & Wood, 1947–1949
Merle A. Sanders, Snyder’s Drug Stores, 1949–1951
Scott C. Rea, Rea & Derick, 1951–1953
S.J. Besthoff, Katz & Besthoff, 1953–1955
G.B. Burrus, Peoples Drug Stores, Inc., 1955–1957
Adolph Weinberger, Gray Drug Stores, Inc., 1957–1959
M.K. Wood, Gallaher Drug Co., 1959–1961
Ches B. Larsen, Cunningham Drug Stores, 1961–1963
Morris R. Shlensky, Katz Drug Company, 1963–1965
Carlyle W. Evans, Gray Drug Stores, Inc., 1965–1967
August F. Hook, Hook Drugs, Inc., 1967–1969
L.S. Skaggs, Skaggs Drug Centers, Inc., 1969–1971
George T. Hilden, Osco Drug, Inc., 1971–1973
Joseph M. Long, Longs Drug Stores, 1973–1975
S.H. Ashcraft, Craft’s Drug Stores, 1975–1976
J.A. Weinberger, Gray Drug Store, Inc., 1976–1977
C.R. Walgreen III, Walgreen Company, 1977–1978
Stewart Turley, Jack Eckerd Corporation, 1978–1979
Robert B. Begley, Begley Drug Company, 1979
Sheldon W. Fantle, Peoples Drug Stores, Inc., 1980–1981
Sydney J. Besthoff, III, K&B, Incorporated, 1981–1982
Sidney Dworkin, Revco D.S., Inc., 1982–1983
Henry A. Panasci, Jr., Fay’s Incorporated, 1983–1984
Robert M. Long, Longs Drug Stores, 1984–1985
James I. Harrison, Jr., Harco Drug Inc., 1985–1986
Alex Grass, Rite Aid Corporation, 1986–1987
Jack A. Robinson, Perry Drug Stores, Inc., 1987–1988
Stewart Turley, Jack Eckerd Corporation, 1988–1989
Gerald Heller, May’s Drug Stores, Inc., 1989–1990
Richard G. Eils, Thrifty Corporation, 1990
Philip E. Beekman, Hook–SupeRx, Inc., 1990–1992
Harvey Rosenthal, CVS, 1992–1993
Robert W. Hannan, Thrift Drug, Inc., 1993–1994
Jack Futterman, Pathmark Stores, Inc., 1994–1995
David L. Maher, American Stores Company, 1995–1996
Gerald Heller, May’s Drug Stores, Inc., 1996–1997
Thomas M. Ryan, CVS Pharmacy, Inc., 1997–1998
Leonard A. Genovese, Genovese Drug Stores, Inc., 1998–1999
Frank A. Newman, Eckerd Corporation, 1999–2000
Alan B. Levin, Happy Harry’s, Inc., 2000–2001
Mark E. Griffin, Lewis Drug, 2002–2003
Mary Sammons, Rite Aid Corporation, 2003–2005
Anthony N. Civello, Kerr Drug, Inc., 2005–2007
David W. Bernauer, Walgreen Co., 2007-2008
Warren F. Bryant, Longs Drug Stores, 2008
Andy A. Giancamilli, Snyders Drug Stores, 2008–2010
Larry J. Merlo, CVS Caremark Corporation, 2010–2011
Robert D. Loeffler, H-E-B, 2011-2012
Gregory D. Wasson, Walgreen Co., 2012-2013
Robert J. Narveson, Thrifty White Pharmacy, 2013-2014
John Standley, Rite Aid Corporation, 2014-2015
Randy Edeker, Hy-Vee, Inc., 2015-2016
Martin Otto, H-E-B, 2016-2017
Alex Gourlay, Walgreens Boots Alliance & Walgreen Co., 2017 -2018
Mark Panzer, Alberstons Companies, 2018-2019
Christopher Lane, Wakefern Food Corp./ShopRite, 2019-2020
Richard Ashworth, Walgreen Co., 2020
Rick Keyes, Meijer, Inc., 2020-2021
Colleen Lindholz, The Kroger Co., 2021-2022
Brian Nightengale, RPh, PhD, Good Neighbor Pharmacy, 2022-2023
Michael Wysong, CARE Pharmacies Cooperative, Inc., 2023-2024

NACDS Annual Meeting

April 26-29, 2025

The Breakers, Palm Beach, FL

Join our industry’s most influential business leaders at this exclusive event. Build vital strategic partnerships with a who’s who in health and wellness and gain new insights into today’s changing marketplace.